Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
American Corners

General Information

American Corners are small, American-style libraries located within a local partner organization, usually a library. American Corners are true partnerships with the local organization, because host institution personnel staff the Corners. Access to American Corners and their collections is free and open to all interested citizens of Kazakhstan.

Each American Corner features an English language collection of American fiction and reference books on U.S. government, history, culture. Corners also provide access to information about the U.S. through supervised Internet access, audio, and video recordings of American films and documentaries.

American Corners support local English instruction with an extensive collection of English teaching materials which are frequently used by local students, teachers and U.S. Peace Corps volunteers.

American Corners also offer U.S. speakers on a variety of topics and host a range of classes, clubs and activities.

For more information about American Corners in Kazakhstan please visit American Corners website or contact a Public Affairs Section of U.S. Embassy in Kazakhstan, or contact the Corners directly using the information provided below.

Astana American Corner
Coming soon.

Almaty American Corner
State Chidlren's Library named after S. Begalin
27, Tole bi Street (corner Dostyk Ave.)
Tel.: 8 (727)  291 84 66  
Almaty@amcorners.kz
Website of Almaty American Corner 

 
Aktobe American Corner
Aktobe Oblast Universal Scientific Library named after Baishev
MKR 11, bld. 112 E, section D
Tel.: (7132) 23-79-99
Aktobe@amcorners.kz

 
Atyrau American Corner
Atyrau Oblast Universal Scientific Library named after Slanov
mkr. Nursaya
Tel.: (7122) 20-92-91
Atyrau@amcorners.kz
 

Karaganda American Corner
Karaganda Oblast Universal Scientific Library named after Gogol
44, Erubaev Street
Tel.: (7212) 49-33-75
Karaganda@amcorners.kz

 
Kostanai American Corner
Kostanai Oblast Universal Scientific Library named after Tolstoy
111, Altynsarina Street
Tel.: (7142) 50-06-90
Kostanai@amcorners.kz
 

Pavlodar American Corner
Pavlodar Oblast Universal Scientific Library named after Torajgyrov
104, Akademik Satpaev street
Tel.: 8 (7182) 32-08-02
Pavlodar@amcorners.kz

 
Petropavlovsk American Corner
North-Kazakhstan Oblast Universal Scientific Library named after Mukanov
25, Kazakhstan Constitution Avenue
Tel.: (7152) 46-08-92
Petropavlovsk@amcorners.kz

 
Shymkent American Corner
South-Kazakhstan Oblast Universal Scientific Library named after Pushkin
2a, Tauke-Khan Avenue
Tel.: (7252) 53-51-92
Shymkent@amcorners.kz

 
Uralsk American Corner
West-Kazakhstan Oblast Library for Children and Youth
166/1, Dostyk Street
Tel.: (7112) 50-44-19
Oral@amcorners.kz

 
Ust-Kamenogorsk American Corner
East-Kazakhstan Oblast Universal Scientific Library named after Pushkin
102, Kazakhstan Street
Tel.: (7232) 26-13-33
Oskemen@amcorners.kz